4 panels in a gallery

By Frederick Frahm. Piano quartet in four movements. Violin, viola, cello & piano. Circa 14″ in duration. Full score and separate parts for all instruments.

From the composer’s program notes:

“One day, I visited an art gallery to pass the time. Yes, there were paintings of barns and soldiers and bowls of fruit. Yes, there were stuffy portraits and lavish murals and fussy assembled things.

In one room, the light was more dim. A single bench sat in the center and on each of the four encompassing walls, there was a single large oblong piece. I don’t remember the artist’s name, couldn’t possibly have been Barnett Newman.

Through my eyes, I fell into each mass of color. My heart sang for their music and my soul was set adrift…”

Panel 1: A melancholy indigo, with an orange nasturtium
Panel 2: A ensanguined scarlet fading to a blushy rose
Panel 3: White lilies in a baroque golden frame
Panel 4: Charcoal, with a sprig of yellow daisies

To review a complete score, please contact the composer.